2022 ICC T20I Cricketer of the Year revealed

2022 ICC T20I Cricketer of the Year revealed

The T20I Cricketers of the Year was awarded to India’s Suryakumar Yadav. You can access more updates about ICC T20 here!

Australia’s Tahlia McGrath named the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year. Suryakumar Yadav, also known as “SKY” edged other candidates in the likes of Mohammad Rizwan, Sikandar Raza, and Sam Curran for the top award. Follow for T20 World Cup news and updates here!

Suryakumar Yadav had a stellar year with the bat breaking an array of records and setting a benchmark like never before in the format,” read the statement on ICC’s website. Yadav provided and showcased to the cricket world his stellar potential last year in the shortest format of the game – he ended the year with holding the highest run-getter, registering 1164 runs with an outstanding strike rate of 187.43, amassing two hundreds and nine-half centuries in the period.

For a more comprehensive and daily IPL or cricket news updates, you may visit

The Mumbai native became only the second batter to reach more than 1000 runs in just a single calendar year. He recorded 68 sixes during the season, which is the most maximums hit in the shortest format’s history. Other than being the T20I Cricketer of the Year, SKY was also named to be part of the ICC Men’s T20I of the year.

“SKY displayed his majestic prowess at the T20 World Cup as well, scoring 239 runs while going at a strike rate of 189.68. He finished the year as the No.1 batter in the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings,” noted ICC.

Suryakumar Yadav was overwhelmed and quite feeling the euphoria after winning the award, as he stated, “It is a great honor to have been voted the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year by the panel, especially after being nominated alongside such a strong list of contenders. I enjoyed many highlights during the year and to receive this award is another reason why 2022 was very special for me, with a lot of positives to take moving forward.

“This achievement is only made possible thanks to the teammates, coaches, support staff and cricket fans who really helped me on my journey. We have a big year ahead in 2023, and I will strive to continue this success for my country in every performance.”

Other than Yadav, the Australia’s McGrath also expressed her delight of being the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, commenting “It’s an incredible honor to be named the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, especially with so many incredible players across the world taking to the game to the next level. It’s been a great year for the team in the T20 format, winning the first ever women’s cricket gold medal at the Commonwealth Games and beating India at home; this is a really nice way to cap it off,” she said in an interview.

For Emerging Cricketers of the year, India’s Renuka Singh claimed the ICC Women’s Emerging Cricketer for 2022, and she was joined by South Africa’s Marco Jansen for ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year award.

Catch for fresh and unique IPL news and updates here at the rising cricket news outlet in

Exciting games and big wins as you visit 12BET where exclusive promotions await you.

Visit 12BET login and join us to claim exclusive benefits and more.